Six-on-Saturday: February Week 1

Daffodils, Verbascum, Aucuba, Agapanthus, rhubarb and Pieris.

It’s the 5th week of the year and we are into February. Already there’s a noticeable cock’s step. In Irish, we call it ‘léim an choiligh’ , or in slang ‘The Grand Oul Stretch’. Since the Solstice we’ve got about 20 minutes extra daylight in the morning and 50 before sunset. That’s not to be sneezed at. Plants are responding well too.

Can someone answer me this?

Why are extra morning and evening minutes not evenly distributed?

Here are six that are among the said responders:

1. Aucuba

This is Spotted Laurel, officially Aucuba japonica. The variety is ‘Rozannie‘. This may be a misprint of Rozanne which would sound better. It’s doing well in the front garden, laden with large red berries.

Most of the berries are hidden within the shrub. For sure, I’ll propagate it at the right time. Must go check when that is.

2. Agapanthus

One hundred and forty two skeletonised Agapanthus stems. Yes, I counted as I gently pulled them away. Some are damaged or very weak, so I’ll filter them out. I may have enough left for two bouquets.

3. Rhubarb

In a sheltered corner, the rhubarb is thriving. I did cover it with a bucket during the very cold weather last month. I am debating keeping a lid on it to force it for earlier dessert with custard.

4. Pieris

I love variegated evergreens. Pieris japonica ‘Little Frosty’.

5. Verbascum

Successful germination of Verbascum. Crikey, it’s as if I’m taking credit for what happens naturally, but I did all the right things to help. Heated propagator at 20°C, pressed the seeds on the compost without covering them. This, as you can see, is Verbascum phoeniceum ‘Violetta’. All going well, I’ll be sure to feature it in June. Verbascum is commonly known as Mullein. Here’s a shot of Verbascum ‘Snowy Spires’ from last year, grown from seed in 2022.

Verbascum ‘Snowy Spires’

6. Any Day Now

It’s their time! I’m guessing other northern Six-on-Saturday bloggers will feature a daffodil or two today. I’m not a betting man, yet I’m offering odds of 1:3.

Summary

Daffodils, Verbascum, Aucuba, Agapanthus, rhubarb and Pieris.

Pop over to Jim’s Site to discover more Six-on-Saturday updates. Until next time, I hope you get to enjoy some time in the garden.

Author: Páraig

Minding my mind, one thought at a time.

10 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday: February Week 1”

  1. Wow, your garden is racing towards Spring! Great to see the rhubarb so well advanced. Enjoy your first crumble!! I checked my aucuba the other day and it has once again been devoured down to the protective wire cage by the muntjac. Must build a bigger cage :(. Your pieris is a beauty.

    Re. your initial question, which has perplexed me too. This link has some good answers … most clearly and comprehensively the response by Ron Davis: https://www.quora.com/When-the-days-start-getting-shorter-do-we-lose-sunlight-at-the-beginning-or-the-end-of-the-day-Or-does-daylight-decrease-evenly-at-both-ends-of-the-day

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for that link, a chara. Something for new learning.
      Of course, depending on definition of start of Spring, the progress is to be admired accordingly. Conversely, irrespective of labels, it’s great to admire the garden in the moment.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started