Six-on-Saturday: January Week 4

Snowdrops, Fatsia, heathers, lettuce, new seeds and grow lights. Thats my six this week.

It was a stormy week. Storm Isha brought a ton load of rain and severe winds. Status Orange warning here and red for the west and north-west of Ireland. Jocelyn arrived two days later. The last time Ireland experienced named storms as far as ‘I’ was in 2016. Interestingly, there were only 2 last year (Sept 2022 – Aug 2023).

Monday, Wednesday and Friday were fine, dry and calm. There was time and opportunity for garden preparation.

1. Seed Sowing

Some organic seeds arrived from West Cork and Germany. The propagator was cleaned and turned on. Seeds were sown, despite my intention to wait until the end of February. I’m losing the run of myself.

2. Lettuces

For the past few years, I’ve had a constant supply of lettuces ready to harvest for my lunch plate. I missed out on sowing since last Autumn, but the conveyor belt has started again. These will be ready early March. In the meantime, I’ll continue sowing every third week.

3. Grow Light

Recently I purchased six small grow lights. Seeds will either love or hate them. I’ll want to learn how best to use this to best effect. One light worked a treat to germinate lettuces faster. More importantly, I’ll learn to use this gadget to accelerate post-germination growth.

4. ‘Plúiríní Sneachta’: Snowdrops

I thought the Snowdrops had died, smothered by the Ajuga. That’s what it does. To my surprise, the Plúiríní Sneachta have risen and flowered. Not easy to see them amid the undergrowth, but they’re delightful when inspected at close quarters.

5. Rising Temperatures

Average January daytime temperatures in these parts is about 5-10°C. Yesterday at 2pm in the glasshouse it reached 31+. Admittedly the thermometer is in direct sunlight but imagine what it would get to if I’d keep the glass cleaned properly! The lettuces are shooting up.

6. Fatsia

This is Fatsia japonica ‘Spider’s Web’. At present, it’s sitting in a garden centre just waiting for me to purchase. It’s on my wishlist and I’m sticking to my plan to get just one plant each month. February is just around the corner. Am I serious, you ask? Yes I am. February’s planned purchase (Choisya ternata ‘Irene Patterson’) has been pushed back to March.

Summary

Pop over to Jim’s Site to discover more Six-on-Saturday updates. Until next time, I hope you get to enjoy some time in the garden.

Author: Páraig

Minding my mind, one thought at a time.

17 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday: January Week 4”

  1. My food garden is quite bare now, so I have been thinking of getting some seeds started to plant out when autumn arrives. My concern is finding a place cool enough for them to grow once they break the soil! Your snowdrops look lovely. I imagine you were very pleased to see them appear again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Morning! LED lights: blue colour for germination and leaves – red colour for fruits and flowers. I have the same kind of thing, but I don’t have the green and orange colours? ? Afterwards it gives good results, but sometimes you need a heating mat for certain seeds (not for lettuce and it’s a good idea to start lettuce seedlings!)
    Concerning the temperature: 31° in the greenhouse! I didn’t do better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for that update, a chara Fred. It’s good to know.
      I have Uncinia under lights right now. It needs 20°C so I put the growlight into the heated propagator. We will see what happens.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You resisted! Good for you. In a strange way, we gardeners think we are saving the world by getting 10 plants when we really just went to buy one! We wear it as a badge of pride that we gave in to the urge!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, Andropogon ternanus looks fun! Have you grown it before? If only I hadn’t over-ordered already 😉 . I like your planning and patience. I’m still cossetting my 6 inch fatsia after it got levelled by the cold last winter.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve just begun seeds as well. I need to get a little more serious about the veggie garden. The snowdrops coming up were a great surprise, I bet!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can see why the Fatsia is next on your list of purchases. I do admire your purchasing plan. How lovely to have snowdrops pushing through and blooming. I have never gotten around to planting them, but surely must correct that problem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started